Oct 19, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Guinea junta leader Mamady Doumbouya sacks 42 army brass

Guinea junta leader Colonel Mamady Doumbouya had sacked 42 army officers, including top military personnel.

These include the Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces, General Namory Traoré, and the Chief of the Gendarmerie (military police), Ibrahima Baldé, and the former military president General Sekouba Konate, who were forced to retire.

The heads of all wings of the armed forces have also been retired and replaced with lower-ranking officers.

The announcement was made on Tuesday through a declaration by the Presidency citing presidential decrees.


h3> < p class = "MsoPlainText"> In a separate statement, Col Doumbouya appointed 28 of the retired generals to the National Defense High Council, the body responsible for national security.

The changes in the army k Come two weeks after Col Doumbouya, who launched a coup against President Alpha Condeon Sept. led 5th ember, was sworn in as interim president.

Last week he appointed a new prime minister to lead the process of the country’s transition to civilian government.

Political analysts see the retirement of the generals as an attempt by Doumbouya to take control of the army, which Conde is seen as loyal. Most of the retired military are known allies of the former president.

Among those appointed to the High National Defense Council is General Konate, who previously supported the coup.

Konate was Interim President of Guinea from December 2009 to December 2010. He was previously the second in command of the junta of the National Council for Democracy and Development, which in 2008 after the death of. President Lansana Konteh took power.

He replaced the coup leader Mousa Dadis Camara, who shot in the head in a failed assassination attempt and flew out of the country for medical treatment.

Konate then led the first democratic elections in Guinea in 2010, which brought Conde to power. He was appointed Chief of the AU Armed Forces shortly after Conde took power.

The new four leaders of the armed forces are Colonel Sadiba Coulibaly, Chief of the General Staff of the Armed Forces; Colonel Ahmed Mohamed Oury Diallo, Deputy Chief of the General Staff of the Armed Forces; Colonel Balla Koïvogui, Army Chief of Staff; and Col. Ibrahima Sory Bangoura, Deputy Chief of Staff of the Army.