Dec 9, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Regional ministers give DR Congo green light to join EAC

The Democratic Republic of the Congo has received the green light from the Council of Ministers to join the East African Community (EAC).

The EAC Council of Ministers is chaired by the Kenyan Cabinet Secretary, Adan, who is responsible for EAC affairs and regional development Mohamed, made the decision during their 44th Extraordinary Meeting, held in Arusha, Tanzania on November 22, 2021.

“EAC Heads of State Summit was held at their 21st Ordinary Meeting on February 27, 2021 , has instructed the EAC Council of Ministers to quickly conduct a review in accordance with the EAC criteria for the admission of foreign states, “said the Council of Ministers statement July 2021 the verification exercise in the capital of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kinshasa, with the aim of determining the degree of conformity of the country in accordance with Article 3 (2) of the Treaty establishing the EAC.

“DRC shares Gr ences with fi ve of the EAC partner states, namely Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda and South Sudan “, says the report submitted by the Council of Ministers.

” There is a feeling of social belonging and solidarity with the EAC , economically, historically, culturally and geographically. ”

In the report, among other things, the existing institutional framework, legal framework, strategies, projects and programs, areas of cooperation with other EAC partner states and the expectations of the Democratic Republic of the Congo is investigating its membership in the community.

The final decision will now be made at a later date by the Summit of EAC Heads of State.

With the start of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement ( AfCFTA), the development of the infrastructure in the Democratic Republic of the Congo will facilitate the connection of the east with the Atlantic coast and southern Africa with north and west Africa n.

There are also plans to connect Burundi’s rail network to the Democratic Republic of the Congo, a decision that offers the opportunity to improve access to both the DRC and EAC markets. This could reduce the cost of intra-regional trade.

The meeting was attended by Uganda’s 1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for East African Affairs, Hon Rebecca Kadaga.

Present during the To Council meetings includes 1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for East African Affairs Rebecca Kadaga, Tanzania’s Minister for Foreign Affairs and East African Cooperation Liberata Mulamula, and Burundi’s Foreign Minister Ezéchiel Nibigira.

South Sudan’s Minister for EAC Affairs Deng Alor Kuol, Kenya’s Mohamed and Rwanda’s Minister of State for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Manasseh Nshuti virtually attended the meeting.

Dr. Alice Yalla, Chair of the DRC Verification Mission, was also present.