Dec 4, 2022

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Somalia election: 32 candidates edged out, four proceed to second round


Thirty-two of the 36 candidates running in Somalia’s presidential election were eliminated in Sunday’s first ballot, leaving four candidates to contest for the presidency.

The grand first round of Somalia’s presidential election began at around 2:30 p.m. with 36 candidates present as members of the House of People began casting their ballots in three clear glass boxes.

< p>An Originally, 39 candidates had registered for the competition, but on Saturday two dropped out of the race. On Sunday, another also withdrew from the election, leaving 36 candidates on the ballot.

Just before the start of the election, spokesman for the bicameral presidential election committee, Mohamed Ibrahim Moalimu, told the plenary that Abdikarim Hussein Guled, Dahir Mohamud Guled and Abdinasir Abdulle had retired.

“Since the 3 candidates have left the competition, 36 remain in the running,” he said.

Lead on the first ballot Puntland State President Said Abdullahi Deni with 65 votes, followed by incumbent Mohamed Abdullahi Farmaajo with 59 votes. Hassan Sheikh Mohamoud received 52 votes, while former Prime Minister received 47 votes.

Former President Sharif Sheikh Ahmed received 39 votes, placing 5th.

All other candidates did not received enough votes to advance to the next round, with Ms. Fawzia Yusuf Haji Adam, former Minister of Foreign Affairs and the only female candidate, receiving one vote and 20 candidates receiving no vote.

Speaker of the House of the People (Lower House ), Sheikh Aden Mohamed Nur Madobe, then announced that the top four candidates would take part in the second ballot.

328 MPs voted in the first ballot.

** *
List of the top candidates of the first round:

  1. Said Abdullahi Deni: 65
  2. Mohamed A. Farmaajo : 59
  3. Hassan Sheikh Mohamud: 52
  4. Hassan Ali Khaire: 47
  5. Sharif Sheikh Ahmed: 39
  6. Abdirahman Abdishakur Warsame: 15 < /li>
  7. Abdulkadir Osoble: 12
  8. Adow Ali Gaas: 8