Oct 4, 2022

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

National Assembly approves Uhuru’s list of diplomats

President Uhuru Kenyatta will officially appoint 21 people as High Commissioners and Ambassadors to Kenya’s missions abroad after the National Assembly approves their appointment.

The Defense and External Relations Committee, in a report presented in the National Assembly on Wednesday, recommended that the House of Representatives approve their nomination, a motion that was approved by the House Plenary after Speaker Justin Muturi voted on the matter.

“After reviewing the suitability, capacity and integrity of the nominees recommends that the National Assembly Committee approve the nomination and subsequent appointment by the President,” the committee stated in its report. to which among other things the preparation of a posting for all designated Gesa ndten heard.

Upon receipt of letters of appointment The envoys-designate are to complete a compulsory introductory course given by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Then their certificates are sent by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to the recipient countries. If there are no objections, the head of state or government of the recipient country formally accepts the credentials, marking the envoy’s entry into office.

Mentioned Disadvantage

In the report to the House of Representatives, the committee noted notes that the nominees have demonstrated their experience as required by the law and that none of them have been charged in court or mentioned negatively in a parliamentary committee report or commission of inquiry in the past three years. p>

“All nominees meet the requirements of the Articles of Incorporation because they do not intend to engage in any other gainful employment,” the committee report said.

The House of Representatives team also noted that none of which the nominees were removed from office due to the issue of conflict of interest under the Leadership and Integrity Act.

In the list of nominees, 10 people are nominated as Ambassadors, 10 as High Commissioners and two as Kenyan Permanent Representatives to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (Unesco) and the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (Igad).

People approved for the posts include outgoing Secretary of the National Assembly Michael Sialai (Namibia), ex ICT Chief Secretary Bitange Ndemo (Belgium) and Ms. Mary Mugwanja to Vienna, Austria.

Also Ms. Muthoni Gichohi (Beijing, China), Mr. Gathoga Chege (Cuba), Mr. Salim Sali m (Djibouti) and Major General A.G. Matiiri (Egypt).

The committee found that the case against Dr. Ndemo in 2014 in connection with the sale of the Malili Ranch property constituted an abuse of the criminal justice system and a violation of his constitutional rights and freedoms.

The committee’s position is based on the findings of the court, which found that that the trial of the former PS amounted to a selective and therefore discriminatory prosecution and a gross abuse of the judicial process.

The others are Clement Kiteme (Angola), Mr. Galma Boru (Indonesia), Mr. Pa ul Ndung’u (Mozambique), Maj. Gen. Andrew Ikenye (Nigeria), Ms. Margaret Shava (Netherlands), Ms. Amina Abdalla (Oman), Ms. Nyambura Kamau (Pakistan), Mr. Boniface Mwilu (Qatar) and Mr. Michael Oyugi (Spain). ).

Major General (Rtd) Thomas Chepkuto (Somalia), Mr. Leonard Boiyo (Turkey) and Maj Gen (Rtd) George Owinow (Uganda) are also to be appointed.

Prof Richard Bosire and Major General (Rtd) Charles Gituai to be named Kenya’s Permanent Representatives to Unesco and Igad, respectively.