Jun 15, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

NMG’s Churchill Otieno retains top post at Kenya Editors’ Guild

The 2021 presidential and council elections took place virtually during the annual general meeting on Saturday.

Zubeida Koome of Standard Group was elected the vice president, and Pamella Sittoni, Arthur Okwemba and Masai Martin Ndei as trustees.

Ms Koome is a senior new anchor on KTN whileMs Sittoni is the executiveeditor and managing editor of the Daily Nation at Nation Media Group.

The KEG council members elected on Saturday were Joseph Bonyo (television), Ruth Nesoba (radio), Linda Bach (print) and George Nyabuga (academic).

In his remarks following the elections, Mr Otieno said, “I thank editors for their confidence and for placing a strong team in office. Togetherwe shall stay the course – promoting professional excellence and defending media freedom.”