Sep 21, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Panel ‘picks top IEBC candidates’

The committee chaired by Dr. Elizabeth Muli interviewed 36 shortlisted candidates to fill positions that became vacant with the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) between 2017 and 2018. It will take almost a year until the elections on August 9, 2022.

Sunday Nation has learned that the panel has chosen eight candidates, who will be ranked from 75 to 65 based on their grades. The names are likely to be submitted, according to a source who spoke on condition of anonymity, Naisiae Tobiko, Juliana Whonge Cherera, Kagwiria Mbogori, Richard Okoth Oduor, Irene Masit, Francis Wanderi, Justus Munyithya and Justus Nyan’gaya.

Upon receipt of the names, the President is expected to nominate four candidates and forward their names to the National Assembly for review.

Dr. Muli has not responded to inquiries about the recruitment process and the list to be handed over to the President until yesterday.

Resuming meetings

The National Assembly is currently on a one-month break and is expected to have its on Tuesday Meetings resume.

Once he receives the final list, the Speaker of the National Assembly, Justin Muturi, will relay the President’s message to this House and forward the names to the Judiciary Committee to examine the suitability of the commissioners selected and recommend that the House approve or reject them. If the House of Representatives approves, the National Assembly will forward the list to the President for formal appointment.

The current IEBC team took office in January 2017 and was reduced to six when Roselyn Akombe was on the countdown to 2017 resigned. Repeat presidential elections.

Diverse experiences

In April 2018, Vice-Chairs Connie Nkatha Maina, Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat followed suit and resigned despite the ability of Chair Wafula Chebukati in Asked the agency.

The list of those likely to advance to the next level includes people with different levels of experience. Ms. Tobiko is the responsible head of the commission services at IEBC, Ms. Cherera is an educator, Ms. Mbogori is the former chair of the Kenyan National Human Rights Commission, while Prof. Oduor is director of Kenyatta University.

Ms. Masit is a board member of the National Government Constituency Development Fund, Mr. Wanderi was chairman of the Export Processing Zone, Mr. Munyithya is a lawyer and Mr. Nyan’gaya is a human rights activist.