Oct 23, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Yatani appoints six to Privatisation Commission

The Cabinet Secretary of the National Treasury, Ukur Yatani, has appointed members of the Privatization Commission to end years of waiting for run-down state-owned companies to sell.

In a communication to the National Assembly, Yatani named Dr. Edward Kobudhi, Irene Njeri Wanyoike, Celyne Anyango Orata, Sarah Adan Abdi, David Nyakango and Wellingtone Godia.

The new officials, if approved by MPs, would replace the team that was run by the late former West Mugirango MP Henry Obwocha, whose term has expired.

The commission works with two officers, former Funyula MP Paul Otuoma as chairman and John Joseph Tito as member.

Ideally The privatization commission consists of the chairman, attorney general, chief secretary of the Treasury and seven non-public officials.

Sale of run-down state-owned companies delayed due to quorum disruption in the commission.

< Positions at the The Commission became vacant in 2019, but was not advertised until July last year, hindering the sale of five sugar factories and around two hotels.

D he appointments are likely to trigger the sale of the Chemelil, South Nyanza, Nzoia, Miwani and Muhoroni sugar mills due to the lack of a quorum on the board.

The National Assembly Speaker, Justin Muturi, dismissed the Finance Committee chaired by Homa Bay Gladys Wanga advises holding approval hearings on nominees and submitting a report within 28 days.

“The committee should inform nominees and the public in good time about the time and place of the approval negotiations. The notification should therefore be made immediately, “said Muturi.

Yatani has also appointed new members of the Board of the Kenya Competition Authority to end the numbers crisis at the agency that regulates competition in the market. < / p>

The Cabinet Secretary nominated Lena Munuve, Alome K. Achayo, David Wanyonyi Wanyama and Abdi A. Mohamed.

The four are also being reviewed by the Finance Committee to join the team that is currently out. consists of Nelson Ndirangu as chairman, Abdirazak Nunow, Elizabeth Ng’ang’a, Albert Mwenda and Joseah Rotich as members.

The Treasury Department said the officials were settled after the interviews conducted in July.

The government had considered a leasing program, but the same required the approval of the board of the privatization commission.