Jul 26, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

COVID-19: UNIPORT directs compulsory use of face mask

The federal government on Sunday put six states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on alert after the occurrence and possible increasing cases of the Delta variant of the COVID-19 infection.

The affected states, which are spread over four of the six geopolitical zones of the country in the southwest, south-south, northwest and north-central, are Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano, Plateau and the capital of the country, FCT.

A statement made in Port Harcourt by the Chairman of the UNIPORT Steering Committee on COVID-19, Prof. Siminialayi Iyeopu, cited the Institution’s Vice Chancellor, Prof. Owunari Georgwill, as the editor of the guideline.

According to Georgewill, the University is concerned about the increasing number of new cases and hospital stays due to the pandemic in the country.

“The mandatory use of face masks is therefore to begin in UNIPORT from Monday, July 19.

” Every member of the university community The community must wear a face mask and comply with all COVID-19 protocols for all indoor activities, including exams and lectures, as well as meetings.

“All UNIPORT employees, students and visitors are required to shake hands regularly to wash or use hand sanitizer while strictly following social distancing regulations, “said Georgwill.

The Vice Chancellor said the measures were aimed at stopping the spread of the highly contagious Delta variant of the coronavirus on university campuses contain.