Dec 7, 2022

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Full List: Nigeria’s 22 Chief Justices Since Pre-colonial, Post-colonial Era –

  • Before Justice Olukayode Ariwoola there were Justice Stafford Foster Sutton, the legendary Justice Adetokunbo Ademola KBE and others
  • The position of Chief Justice of Nigeria ( CJN) dates back to the pre-colonial era of 1914 when Nigeria had Sir Edwin Speed ​​as its first Chief Justice post-colonial era when Nigeria has its first indigenous Chief Justice in 1958

Following the swearing in of Supreme Court Justice Olukayode Ariwoola as Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) by President Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria has had 21 Justices over the years who previously held that position.

Judge Ariwoola becomes the 22nd Chief Justice of Nigeria Nigeria (CJN) since the beginning of the colonial period and the 17th since the post-colonial period.

Pre-colonial period

1. Sir Edwin Speed, 1914-1918

2. Sir Ralph Combe, 1918-1929

3. Donald Kingdon, 1929-1946

4. Sir John Verity, 1946-1954

5. Sir Stafford Sutton, 1955–1958

Postcolonial Era/Military Era

6. Sir Adetokunbo Ademola, 1958–1972

7. Taslim Olawale Elias, 1972–1975

8. Sir Darnley Arthur Alexander, 1975-1979

9. Atanda Fatai Williams, 1979-1983

10. George Sodeinde Sowemimo, 1983-1985

11. Ayo Gabriel Irikefe, 1985-1987

12. Mohammed Bello, 1987–1995

Post-military/democratic era

13. Muhammad Lawal Uwais, 1995-2006

14. Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore, 2006-2007

15. Idris Legbo Kutigi, 2007-2009

16. Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu, 2009-2011

17. Dahiru Musdapher, 2011-2012

18. Aloma Mariam Mukhtar, 2012-2014

19. Mahmoud Mohammed, 2014-2016

20. Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, 2017-2019

21. Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, 2019-2022

22. Olukayode Ariwoola, 2022-

Supreme Court Vacancies: Breakdown of Shortlisted Justices by Region as Advocates, SANs Sidelined

In the Meanwhile, the FJSC has shortlisted 29 judges for the Court of Appeals to fill six vacancies on the Supreme Court.

Under Section 231(3) of the 1999 Constitution, the Hire attorneys with a at least 15 years after the call.

In a June 13 letter from NBA Judiciary Committee Chair Babatunde Ajibade, none of the 23 attorneys who were were shortlisted.