Oct 3, 2022

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Nigeria Police Confirms AIG Don Awunah’s Demise After Brief Illness – Legit.ng

  • Benue State Police Officer Don Awunah has been pronounced dead by the Nigerian Police Force (NPF)
  • Awunah is believed to have died there in a private hospital in Abuja after a brief illness that kept him off the radar
  • Similarly, the late Deputy Inspector General of Police Joseph Obiajulu Egbunike was buried in his hometown of Onitsha, Anambra State

FCT, Abuja – The Nigerian Police Force (NPF) has confirmed the death of a victim of its top official Don Awunah.

Awunah, who serves as assistant inspector general, is said to have passed out on Monday, May 23, the Nation newspaper reported.


The funeral of the deceased Police AIG is reportedly the closest to be announced.

DIG Joseph Egbunike buried

Similarly, the Nigerian Police Force (NPF) also announced the conclusion at the funeral ceremony of the late Deputy Inspector General of Police Joseph Obiajulu Egbunike.

According to a Facebook post, quoted on the official Nigerian Police Facebook page, Egbunike was buried at his hometown in Onitsha, Anambra State on Saturday May 21.

The funeral ceremony was also attended by Inspector General of Police Usman Alkali Baba, accompanied by John Ogbonnaya Amadi, Deputy Inspector General of Police in charge of Research and Planning Department.

Okada- Prohibition: Lagos police to arrest and prosecute passengers

In another development, the Lagos state government says they will not condone any action or violation of law and order as there will be severe consequences.

Lagos State Police recently confiscated 150 motorcycles traveling on the highways of restricted areas in Lagos State.

Similarly, passengers were warned not to patronize Okada drivers or risk arrest and prosecution.

List of 6 LGAs, 9 LCDAs where Okada this can no longer operate in Lagos

Meanwhile, the Lagos state government issued a statement restricting Okada’s operations to six LGAs and nine LCDAs announced.

Effective June 1, 2022, the governor directed security forces to enforce the prohibition order in the listed councils.

The full list includes: Apapa, Iganmu LCDA, Ikeja, Ojodu LCDA, Onigbongbo LCDA, Lagos Island, Lagos Island West LC DA, Lagos Island East LCDA, Lagos Mainland, Yaba LCDA, Surulere, Coker Aguda LCDA and Itire-Ikate LCDA.