Jun 15, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Senate suspends plenary for constitution review

Senate President Ahmad Lawan, who made the announcement in plenary on Wednesday, said the exercise would take place on May 26-27, 27 in 12 centers across the country.

Lawan urged the Nigerians take full part in the exercise as the National Assembly does not have a pre-made agenda, but is open to suggestions from Nigerians on how the country can move forward.

In his words: “This is one very important exercise for our country and I will take this opportunity to appeal to all Nigerians who have one problem or another that they believe the Senate Constitutional Review Committee should know and take note of and address. This is the time to go to the center closest to you.

“We are open, we are clear, we don’t have a preconceived or predetermined position on anything. The myriad of problems Nigerians want to address in order to make Nigeria better, protect its citizens and improve the welfare of our people must be taken into account.

“Because of this very important role of this important Senate Committee the Senate will suspend the plenary until next week.

“This is to allow not only committee members, but also the rest of us who are not even members of the Constitutional Review Committee to participate in the exercise.

“We wish our Constitutional Review Committee the best of the trip, and Nigeria should take every opportunity to showcase whatever it is for this country to work better.

” That is why we welcome any suggestion on any subject. We’re not sitting next week, that’s because we’re using the whole week for this exercise. If we adjourn, it will be June 1st before we convene the plenary again. “

Lawan had previously read a letter from the chairman of the Constitutional Review Committee in which Senate Vice President Ovie Omo-Agege announced that the committee would hold its zonal public hearing To hold review of 1999 Constitution on May 26th and 27th.

Lawan said the public hearing on proposals to amend the provisions of the 1999 Constitution should be held in two centers each of the country’s six geopolitical zones .

He listed the centers that North-Central belong to, including the Jos Center, which consists of Plateau, Nasarawa, and the State of Benue. The center is chaired by Sen. Abdullahi Adamu (APC Nasarawa), while the Minna Center, consisting of Niger, Kwara and Kogi and FCT, is headed by Sen. Sabi Abdullahi (APC-Niger).

For the Northeast that has done this, the Bauchi Center, consisting of the states of Yobe and Boronu, with its chairman as Sen, Abubakar Kyari (APC-Boronu), while the second center, the chairman consisting of the states of Gombe, Taraba and Adamawa Sen. Goje Danjuma (APC Gombe).

For the northwest, the Kaduna Center, consisting of the states of Kaduna, Kano, Jigawa and Katsina, has Sen. Gaya Kabiru (APC Kano) as chairman, while the Sokoto- The center consists of the states of Sokoto, Zamfara and Kebbi, has Sen. Adamu Alero (APC-Kebbi) as chairman.

He said the southeast zone that the Owerri center has with Imo and Abia states has Sen. .Orji-Uzor Kalu (APC Abia) as chairman, while the Enugu Center, consisting of Enugu, Anambra and Ebonyi States, Sen. Ike Ekweremadu (PDP-Enugu) has as chairman.

For South-South, the Asaba center consists of the states Delta Edo and Bayelsa. Sen. James Manager (PDP-Delta) chairs while the center of Port Harcourt consists of the states of Rivers, Akwa-Ibom and Cross-River and the chairman is Sen. Berty Apiafi (PDP Rivers).