Dec 9, 2021

Mawazo Writing Africa

Writing about the main

Phahlane, Mgwenya ask court to probe delays in R191m police ‘blue lights’ case

Motions began Thursday from former Acting National Police Commissioner Khomotso Phahlane and former Deputy Commissioner Bonang Mgwenya urging the court to inquire about delays in their upcoming “blue light” case.

Phahlane presented his first case before the Johannesburg Special Court for Trade Crime alleging that the state had not made full disclosure and that this had affected his defense preparations.

Mgwenya also presented her case, complaining about the same problems.

She said the matter had been inappropriately delayed for more than a year. Mgwenya, who was arrested in October 2020, said she was no closer to attending the trial.

The Criminal Procedure Act provides that if a court finds that the completion of the trial has been inappropriately delayed, Among other things, issued an order – if the defendant has not yet pleaded on the indictment – that the case should be removed from the list.

Prosecutor Tilas Chabalala denied that the defendant did not understand the contents of the file .

Your filings will continue on January 20, 2022.

Phahlane and Mgwenya are among the eleven people and a company expected to resolve because of Fraud, theft and obstruction or disregard of legal process will be responsible.

The charges relate to a multi-million rand tender by Vimpie Manthatas company Instrumentation for Traffic Law Enforcement for the equipment g of police vehicles with emergency lights.

The state alleges that during the procurement process, the accused police ignored a tender process and committee d the SAPS a financial charge of R191 million in favor of Manthata’s company in return for Manthata benefits received.

Aside from Manthata, Phahlane, Mgwenya and Instrumentation for Traffic Law Enforcement, other defendants include former Gauteng Police Commissioner Deliwe de Lange, former Deputy Police Commissioner of Gauteng Nombhuruza Lettie Napo, James Ramanjalum, Ramahlapi Johannes Mokwena, Thomas Marima, Maetapese Joseph Mulaiwa, Judy Rose and Samantha Andrews.